Tuesday, October 9, 2012

Review: Mystic City by Theo Lawrence


Mystic City (Mystic City, #1)

Title: Mystic City
Series: Mystic City #1
Author: Theo Lawrence
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: October 09, 2012
Genre:  Young Adult, Fantasy, Dystopian, Romance
Reading Source: NetGalley
Reading Level: 12+  
Format: ebook
Cover Art: 4/5
Overall: 5/5

Goodreads: 
For fans of Matched, The Hunger Games, X-Men, and Blade Runner comes a tale of a magical city divided, a political rebellion ignited, and a love that was meant to last forever. Book One of the Mystic City Novels.

Aria Rose, youngest scion of one of Mystic City's two ruling rival families, finds herself betrothed to Thomas Foster, the son of her parents' sworn enemies. The union of the two will end the generations-long political feud—and unite all those living in the Aeries, the privileged upper reaches of the city, against the banished mystics who dwell below in the Depths. But Aria doesn't remember falling in love with Thomas; in fact, she wakes one day with huge gaps in her memory. And she can't conceive why her parents would have agreed to unite with the Fosters in the first place. Only when Aria meets Hunter, a gorgeous rebel mystic from the Depths, does she start to have glimmers of recollection—and to understand that he holds the key to unlocking her past. The choices she makes can save or doom the city—including herself.

Review:

Aria Rose suffers from amnesia after waking up from an overdose of a drug known as Stic, it's made from the power of mystics only to discover she is engaged to a Thomas Foster, the son of the rival family who her parents hopes will unite the two families. Everyone says she's madly in love with Thomas, but she can't remember anything.  

 How's she to marry someone she can't even remember being in love with?
When Aria goes to visit Thomas for some answers, all she gets is more questions because before she can even arrive at the Foster's she meets a guy that saves her from a street gang. Mystics are drained of their power, to control them. He's a mystic rebel. She doesn't feel in danger while around him though, she feels just the opposite, Aria feels safe with him. She finds that she can't stop thinking about the mysterious Hunter. She soon finds the closest people around her may be the biggest betrayal of all.

 In this futuristic novel the world building was great. Everything was so detailed. I liked how she incorporated global warming and it's effects in the book.

 I adored Hunter! He was appealing, brave, gorgeous and intriguing, I can't say enough good things about him.

 This was one of those books I couldn't hardly put down, the only time I did was because I had to go to bed. The only negative thing I would say about it is that the ending seemed kind of rushed to me, maybe it was just because I tore through the pages. I'm looking forward to reading the next book, which comes out in 2013!

 Recommended for of fantasy, dystopian and romance.

 Thank you to Delacorte Books for Young Readers and NetGally for this digital copy in exchange for an honest review.









4 comments:

Elizabeth said...

Good luck in the contest.

Elizabeth
Silver's Reviews
http://silversolara.blogspot.com

Sarah S said...

Thank you.

whatsontheshelf said...

I have heard so much good stuff on this one. I like the cover on this one and the next one. I also love your smiley icons! Great blog, new follower.

Vyki @ On The Shelf
Check out my new meme Cover Crush!

Sarah S said...

I really liked this one. Thanks!

 

Wondrous Readings Template by Ipietoon Cute Blog Design and Bukit Gambang