Blogger Widgets

Saturday, December 13, 2014

Review: Princess of Thorns by Stacey Jay


Princess of Thorns


Title: Princess of Thorns 
Series: Standalone 
Author: Stacey Jay
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: December 9, 2014
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
Reading Source: NetGalley
Reading Level:  14+    
Grade Level: 9+
Length: 400
Format: e-ARC
  Cover Art: 4/5
 Overall: 5/5



  

Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior princess who must fight to reclaim her throne.

Though she looks like a mere mortal, Princess Aurora is a fairy blessed with enhanced strength, bravery, and mercy yet cursed to destroy the free will of any male who kisses her. Disguised as a boy, she enlists the help of the handsome but also cursed Prince Niklaas to fight legions of evil and free her brother from the ogre queen who stole Aurora's throne ten years ago.

Will Aurora triumph over evil and reach her brother before it's too late? Can Aurora and Niklaas break the curses that will otherwise forever keep them from finding their one true love?




Review: 
This is not a retelling of Sleeping Beauty instead it's more of an extension of sorts. It was the story of Sleeping Beauty's daughter, Aurora, and son, Jor. 



I really liked the relationship between Princess Aurora and Prince Niklaas. The humor between them was hilarious. It was NOT instant-love, in fact they hated each other, once Niklaas found out about Ror being a girl. I also loved that there was magic and fairies and ogres in the story, and the other fairy tale characters mashed in the book as well. Red Riding Hood, Rapunzel. There was also a twist of  The Swan Princess.


I had a hard time getting into the story but after the first few chapters it picked up for me. Normally I really dislike multiply POVs but this was different, I found myself flying through the entire book. Aurora was a great heroine, she was strong and goodhearted even if she was a little stubborn. She really cared for her brother and would do anything to take care of him, including give herself up to save his life. And I didn't really like Niklaas at first, he seemed conceited and too-good-for-anybody, but I soon warmed up to him, I found it is just part of his charm. The Ogre Queen and all the ogres, were terrifying characters, how they stole human souls. The ending was wrapped up nicely but it felt a bit rushed.  


Princess of Thorns was my first Stacey Jay book and I will be looking forward to reading her other books. I'm really interested in Of Beast and Beauty. I can see why people love her books, her writing was great.  


Thank you to  Delacorte Press and NetGalley for this eARC in exchange for an honest review.
 





Saturday, December 6, 2014

November Wrap Up & (kind of a) December TBR

 I have been in a reading slump since back in September and I haven't been wanting to read. For the last two months I only read four books. Here are the books I read in November.

Amulet, Vol. 1: The Stonekeeper (Amulet, #1)Snow Flower and the Secret Fan
Amulet, Vol. #1: The Stonekeeper (Amulet #1) by Kazu Kibuishi  
Snow Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See   


November book of the month was:
Amulet, Vol. 1: The Stonekeeper (Amulet, #1)


Challenge Progress:
2014 TBR Pile: 2/20
Rewind: 11/20
Debut: 4/12
Dystopia: 11/13
Standalone: 10/15 
Goodreads: 84/80

as for the December TBR I don't really have any books in mind other than 1 in particular. I reread all 6 Harry Potter book early this year just so I could finally read this one. It's about time that I finished this series. 
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, #7)
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter #7) by J.K. Rowling


Sunday, November 9, 2014

October Wrap Up & November TBR

Here's the books that I read in October. Sorry I'm a little late

Everlost (Skinjacker, #1)Dollhouse (The Dark Carousel #1)
Everlost (Skinjacker #1) by Neal Shusterman 
Dollhouse (Dark Carousel #1) by Anya Allyn   


October book of the month was:
Dollhouse (The Dark Carousel #1)


Challenge Progress:
2014 TBR Pile: 2/20
Rewind: 11/20
Debut: 4/12
Dystopia: 11/13
Standalone: 9/15    


November TBR:
Princess of ThornsRite of Rejection
Through the Ever Night (Under the Never Sky, #2)Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days, #1)
 Princess of Thorns by Stacy Jay
Rite of Rejection by Sarah Negovetich
Through the Ever Night (Under the Never Sky #2) by Veronica Rossi
Angelfall (Penryn & The End of Days #1) by Susan Ee


Saturday, October 4, 2014

September Wrap Up & October TBR

I only read one book, and it wasn't even in my pile of books for September. I don't really know what happened.

Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky, #1)
Under The Never Sky (Under The Never Sky, #1) by Veronica Rossi 

So the month of September was 4 out of 5 stars. 
September book of the month was:
Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky, #1)


Challenge Progress:
2014 TBR Pile: 2/20
Rewind: 11/20
Debut: 4/12
Dystopia: 11/13
Standalone: 9/15    


October TBR:
Stitching SnowThe Monstrumologist (The Monstrumologist, #1)
Anna Dressed in Blood (Anna, #1)Dollhouse (The Dollhouse Books, #1)
 Stitching Snow by R.C. Lewis
The Monstrumologist (The Monstrumologist #1) by Rick Yancey 
Anna Dressed In Blood (Anna #1) by Kendare Blake
Dollhouse (The Dollhouse Books #1) by Anya Allyn


Tuesday, September 30, 2014

Top Ten Tuesday

  Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke & The Bookish

  Top Ten books that I found difficult to read!:
Stolen: A Letter to My Captor A Monster Calls The Fault in Our Stars
Speak The Diary of a Young Girl 
If I Stay (If I Stay, #1) A Child Called "It" Torn Away
The Book Thief Stolen Children
Stolen by Lucy Christopher 
A Monster Calls- Patrick Ness
The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson 
The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank
If I Stay by Gayle Forman
A Child Called It by Dave Pelzer
Torn Away by Jennifer Brown 
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
Stolen Children by Peg Kehret




Wednesday, September 24, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday/ W.O.W 9/24/14

    
Wishlist Wednesday, hosted by Dani at Pen to Paper & Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine to post books that you have been really wanting for a long time.
Red Queen (Red Queen, #1)


Title: The Red Queen 
Author: Victoria Aveyard
Publisher: Orion 
Release Date: March 26th 2015

A thrilling new fantasy trilogy for fans of DIVERGENT and THE HUNGER GAMES.

The poverty stricken Reds are commoners, living under the rule of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers.

To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from The Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change.

Mare finds herself working in the Silver Palace, at the centre of
those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control.

But power is a dangerous game. And in this world divided by blood, who will win?





Tuesday, September 23, 2014

Top Ten Tuesday

  Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke & The Bookish

  Top Ten Fall TBR 2014!:
Princess of Thorns Stitching Snow Exquisite Captive (Dark Caravan Cycle #1) 
Forbidden Lailah (The Styclar Saga, #1) Sweet Unrest
Made For YouThe Cure for Dreaming 
Falling into Place Salt & Storm
Princess of Thorns by Stacey Jay
Stitching Snow by R.C. Lewis 
Exquisite Captive (Dark Caravan Cycle #1) by Heather Demetrios 
Forbidden by Kimberley Griffiths Little

Lailah (The Styclar Saga #1) by Nikki Kelly
Sweet Unrest by Lisa Maxwell 
Made For You by Melissa Marr
The Cure For Dreaming by Cat Winters 
Falling into Place by Amy Zhang 
Salt & Storm by Kendall Kulper